Day One: Spidy Senses

My love dismantled

Today is day one without a cell phone. I am not going to lie, I think this will be a very challenging month because I am so attached to my cell phone; it is like a third appendage. You see that one person walking down the street fully engrossed in a text message conversation, that is me, a text-aholic. I woke up this morning and I shut my phone off, took out the battery, and gave it to my parents. It was a depressing moment, probably one of the most depressing in my life, but I just pulled out the calendar and began my daily tally until this experiment is over.

Despite all the despair, I am actually looking forward to this. Not the whole no cell phone for a month, but the research that will come along with it. It is quite sad to think about how much people rely on technology, and how much time each person spends on it. Especially the cell phone. I mean for goodness sakes people text with both hands while operating a motor vehicle. I look at these people and say to myself, Are you for real? Lets rewind the clock back a week, I was in Colorado for the weekend and my parents and I were driving on the freeway. Suddenly I hear my mom say, Check out the lady next to us! I look over, and there is this young women, probably in her twenties, driving a white sedan going about seventy miles an hour, and her head is straight down texting with both hands. Come on people, that is very dangerous stuff, especially in Colorado after some nice rain and a dash of snow. Those people you got to look at and say “come on, really, is your text message to Buffalo Bill that important?” Maybe something horrendous happened in her family and it was that urgent, then I am wrong and I apologize, but my spidy senses tell me otherwise.

Many of you might be asking why I am talking about spidy senses and such, and my answer to you is because I can. As you can tell I am having a good day, I do not know why. I did homework all day, and watched my favorite football team get dismantled by their former fearless leader quarterback, Brett Favre, at home. On top of that I had to give up my most prized possession over everything, even my family (that is a lie, but it helps illustrate my addiction to my cell phone). I think I have an explanation to my happiness, I think that I am happy to break my addiction to my cell phone and to begin my research on the effects of cell phones on the body, the environmental hazards, and the dangers of using a cell phone while operating a motor vehicle. I am going to go with that answer. Well if you would excuse me I have to set up a facebook so I can keep up with my friends.

2 Comments

  1. Posted November 4, 2009 at 8:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    last line. second paragraph. bahaha matt, so great.

  2. Uncle Bruce
    Posted November 25, 2009 at 6:34 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Dear Mathew:
    1. Hey big guy, don’t worry about your cell phone. Just remember this: That your mom, dad and I did without cell phones from 1950-1990, no problem at all, ha, ha, ha! If we can do it, so can you, no swet! Love always, Uncle Bruce

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

