Day Two: Arnold

Arnold

Get to the Chopper

It is day two and depression is setting in; it is going to be a long month. I woke up this morning and went into panic mode because I could not find my cell phone. It was probably only a five second panic attack, but it felt like five hours. Every morning I check my phone, even though I know nothing happened while I was asleep; it is a comfort thing and now that is gone.

If that was not enough, I had an excellent morning in two hours of calculus class where my teacher was going on and on about derivatives and junk. It was at this moment in time where I wished that Doc Brown came crashing through the class room wall, bumping death metal music, slamming on the breaks, squealing the tires of his pimped out DeLorean and doing a three hundred and sixty degree turn up to my desk. Then the doors open vertically and a cloud of time dust rushes out and Arnold Schwarzenegger steps out in a black leather jacket, and black sunglasses on and says “Get to the Chopper!”  Of course I listen and I jump in and the doors close behind me and we speed back in time to tell myself not to choose this as a project.

You might think that was a little out of the ordinary, but you try and sit in a calculus class and not think of Doc Brown crashing through your classroom wall, while Arnold Schwarzenegger is his Terminator self because you do not have a cell phone to text your friends. Try it, and if the thought of Arnold is nowhere near your mind come talk to me and I will give you a sour apple Jolly Rancher (that is a metaphor do not go busting into a calculus, unless you really want to, because I will not physically give you a Jolly Rancher). The morale of the story is that this experiment is going to take a lot of work and will change my addiction to my cell phone.

One Comment

  1. Uncle Bruce
    Posted November 25, 2009 at 6:40 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Dear Mathew: Good story, but remember this: When they made the First and Second Terminator Movies, no one had a cell phone then, Ok? Furthermore, I can’t imagine the Terminator saying on the cell phone: I’ll be back! It doesen’t have the same meaning as a face to face conversation with the Terminator, does it, ha, ha, ha!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

