Day Four: The First Test

My First e-mail

My First e-mail

Today is day four, and I have begun my first study. What I did was sent an e-mail out to everybody in my address book, a minus a few, to see how long it takes for people to get back to me. It has been an hour and so far no one has sent me a message back. I will be monitoring my e-mail every twenty minutes to see if I have gotten a response. By this time, I could have called or texted almost everybody in my phone book and heard a response from at least half of them by this time.

E-mail has already proved not to be as time efficient as a phone, but I understood that coming into this experiment. Something that shocked me was when speaking to five of my friends at break about this project, I asked them if they regularly checked their e-mail. The responses I got were, three never checked their e-mail, one did not even have his own, and the fifth did check it on a regular basis because he expects e-mails from colleges. This was something I never knew about my friends, nor did I ever think to bring it up. Despite the fact that kids do not check their e-mail, I am expecting the majority of adults to respond to my e-mail within the next day.

It is amazing to think that the youth do not check their e-mail or even have one. That is directly the effect of cell phones. Kids do not need an hassle with checking their e-mail account because any sort of information they want to know is given them in an instant. This is the future of communication. E-mails will become obsolete because cell phone companies will devise a simple way to transfer large files via text, just like e-mails do via internet. Many of you might say, “Hey, uh, are you not up to speed with the newest technology? You can send large files via text.” My answer to you is, I am talking about files that business people use in presentations and such. The files that are so big, that they make your computer go boom. If there is some app like that for an I-phone, then please give me the 411 on that. While writing this I got an e-mail from one of my contacts!

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

