Day Five: The Reckoning

iguana

Darwin was right

Today is day five of my life lab. My addiction to my cell phone is virtually non-existent. I have almost forgotten completely that I owned one. Facebook is working as a good alternative to a cell phone because everyone I know has it, and they are usually on for at least an hour each day. I am able to keep up with them by communicating through facebook or going old fashion style and talking to them face to face.

 Ten years from now spoken language will be a rarity because people will no longer need to speak. Texting will completely dominate all forms of communication because according to Darwin’s theory of evolution, he says “thou who text shall spawn a second thumb.” You might think I am crazy, but always read the fine print; it is there. That just makes perfect sense because in the future people’s skills of texting will be so evolved that there mine as well be an additional thumb on each hand. My spidy senses are tingling again, and they say that in the future there will be actual education classes in the art of texting; they will replace computer keyboarding classes. 

You might think I am crazy, but texting has already begun to dominate communication. I mean come on, has anyone seen that whispering is something of an archaic past. Whenever someone has a secret to tell another, and there are other ears around that cannot hear it, the person just texts the secret. I use to notice that, but it never seemed to register until I started this project. I cannot be the only one who sees this. Just remember this when you are in a situation where Jane Doe wants to share her secret with her friend Strawberry Shortcake, and Swiper the secret stealer is present, she will text it, not whisper it.

The change is starting, it is only a matter of time people…

2 Comments

  1. Jodi Wallis
    Posted November 22, 2009 at 8:58 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Matt, something to think about, I’ve noticed my family and I communicate by texting much more than we use to, but for the most part I have resisted the social networking sites. Good luck on your project!

  2. brenda brown
    Posted November 23, 2009 at 10:37 am | Permalink | Reply

    Matt, you are one of the sweetist young men i have had to pleasure of meeting. you are always polite and attentive. i am sure that you have a bright future in whatever you decide to persue.

    regarding use of a cell phone, it has become a neccessity in todays world. email helps keep us in touch with people we don’t speak to often. we can receive a quick note or a cute joke from someone and know they are ok.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

