Day Thirteen: Friday the 13

Tree Pumpkin

BOO ITS FRIDAY THE 13!

Today is day thirteen, and it is game day. Today we play Torrey Pines, who is our biggest rival. It sucks not having a cell phone on this day because I have several good friends that play for the team and several more who attend the school. It is always fun for us to send texts back and forth talking crap on each other because it is a tradition and very amusing to us. Other than that I do not feel like a need a cell phone.

It is to my surprise that this experiment is going this smoothly. When I talked about the outlook of my project on day one, I said that this would be as hard as it is for a smoker to break his or her addiction on cigarettes. I was wrong by a long shot. My need for a cell phone is completely cured, for now.

Next week is thanksgiving week, which means a week off from school and more time to do nothing. I am a very busy person and I always have homework to do, practice to go to, or other obligations that eat away at my time, so I do not realize that I am doing this project. To be honest with you, if it was not for my busy schedule, this would be a different kind of blog. It would be more like a Doctor Phil show, but in words. Or like Oprah, but with no meaning to it except a white kid who has a problem with not using a cell phone.

I wonder if in the years to come, if texting and cell phone addiction will be a serious problem that people will need to get counseling for it. That would be me if I haven’t undertaken this project. Or will my addiction resume after this month is up? Am I that weak minded? I do not believe so, but with my past addiction to my cell phone, I do not know how the future will go for me.

2 Comments

  1. Charles Bruce
    Posted November 25, 2009 at 7:39 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Mathew: I loved your human interest story today. I think that it was one of your verrrrr best stories here so far: Because it really begins to show your humanity, sensitivity and understanding of the limnits of your technological powers with esp. your cell phone! Just remember this, any thing can cause an addiction: Not just drugs, alcohol, sex, money, crime, work etc. but also even tecnology toys can also become an addition. Therefore, WATCH-OUT, that your passions don’t become your addictions, esp. with your cell phone-Understand?

  2. Karen
    Posted November 27, 2009 at 11:51 am | Permalink | Reply

    Matt we can start a cell phone anonomous. I think it would be a big hit with Judges who could sentence guilty cell phone users to attend 3 meetings a week for life. Just a thought.

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

