Day Twenty-one: Best Buy

 

Best Buy

 

 

Today is day twenty-one, and I have had a good day. Today is the first day of break, which means I finally get to relax and do not have to worry about homework, except for this project. So far a cell phone has not been necessary, which is unusual for breaks because that is when I am constantly on my cell phone.

Earlier today I took a trip to a near by Best Buy to investigate cell phones. When I arrived I went through and looked at all the cell phones they had on display. As I was looking an employee came up to me and asked me if I needed help. I began asking him questions about his knowledge on the effects of cell phones on the body. When I asked him that he looked at me funny, but he said that he had never known of any such things. He went on and said that there could be a possibility of such things, but he said that would be a rarity.

I would not say he is an expert on cell phones, but he works at a store that sells them, so therefore he has to have some sort of understanding of this product. From everyone I have talked to they have had the same answer about cell phones. The reason for this, I think, is that there is no definitive answer out there because there has not been conclusive research.

Until there is conclusive research, I think that most professionals will take the middle ground and say that cell phones may or may not cause physical damage to a person. As for doctors, I think that they will be the ones to say that cell phones will affect a person in a negative way. The answer has not been made definitive, but it will be soon.

2 Comments

  1. LD
    Posted November 22, 2009 at 6:30 pm | Permalink | Reply

    I agree even if cell phones were a hazard to anyone’s health, no one is going to admit it for a long time. Especially people who make their living selling them. I think.people would rather risk their health vs going without a phone, For example, people still smoke and know that for sure it is just a matter of time before you can get cancer,

  2. Charles Bruce
    Posted November 25, 2009 at 8:31 pm | Permalink | Reply

    Mathew: This was a good investigative and analytical letter about cell phones, shopping at Best Buy, and your concerns about humanity’s use of cell phones. However, I have also gone to the same Best Buy store many times, and not everyone there or at any store, can really know everyting about a particular product. It’s really a training and comprehension problem on the store’s and its employees parts. Therefore, please remember this: Let the buyer beware, do some comparison shopping at other stores for the same products and also read the instructions before using any technological toys, Ok?

Post a Comment

Required fields are marked *

*
*

